Return to iPolarTM Electronics Polarscope
Sort By::
Page of 3
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 iPolar on Mac M1 October 1, 2021
Reviewer: David J Kreiton from Ocala, FL United States  
Prior to the M1 chip, the Mac iPolar app ($10 on the Mac App Store!) worked fairly well except for annoying green flashes while polar aligning. With the M1 chip and Mac OS Big Sur v11.6 when double clicking on the app I get the message "Cannot use iOptron iPolar". If you Show Package Contents and double click on the app in the MacOS folder it will connect, but there is constant screen flashing making polar alignment difficult, at best.
    Why would I buy an iE5100, which apparently has a MacOS driver and software, when iOptron can not make the iPolar work flawlessly?

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 iPolar - iPad / IOS June 29, 2021
Reviewer: Steven Gross from Tampa, FL United States  
Works great! I use both the Windows and Mac software. Prefer the Mac version - BUT - would be GREAT to have an iPad version!! Come on iOptron!!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great But Needs Mobile Device Support!!! June 24, 2021
Reviewer: Joe Geiger from Clinton, MA United States  
I have iPolar in my SGP and it makes setup a snap. The onscreen display guides you to get perfect polar alignment in only a few minutes. I use my SGP as a portable imaging platform along with my 80mm refractor. It would be much more portable if I didn’t have to lug around a PC laptop. I talked to someone at iOptron who said a wifi adapter was in the works that would allow iPolar to be controlled from mobile devices but after a year still no such product.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Needs polar alignment app for smartphones June 12, 2021
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from United States  
I own two and they work well under Windows 10. The Windows software installs a DirectShow camera driver. Some 3rd party imaging software such as SharpCap Pro incorporate polar alignment routines so you no longer have to rely on the iOptron software. There is also an INDI driver for Stellarmate and Astroberry but the recent user reports are hit or miss. We need more users to test and report so that the situation improves. Since these products allow for the main imaging camera to be used for polar alignment, it raises the question of whether you still need a separate polar alignment camera. Maybe you want to verify polar alignment without disturbing your main camera settings? There are many other usage scenarios where it would be handy to connect iPolar via USB OTG to a smartphone and it would be nice to have an official Android app from iOptron. And please, at the very least use a darker red and darker yellow for the interface. :)

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Finally accurate polar alignment April 20, 2021
Reviewer: bradls_pix from BORONIA, VIC Australia  
Living in the southern hemisphere I've really struggled with accurate polar alignment especially using longer focal lengths with my skytracker pro. Recently got the ipolar and this has become much easier. It would be great if ioptron had an android app to connect smartphone to the ipolar for alignment as I'm not about to cart my laptop with me everywhere, that's why it gets 4 stars and not 5 from me.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Works great March 16, 2021
Reviewer: Kent Blackwell from Virginia Beach , VA United States  
I am glad I opted to for the iPolar instead of the polar scope. Not only is it more accurate but more comfortable as well. It connected to my WIN 7 laptop with no issues, but occasionally I have to click "TAKE DARK FRAME' two or three times before proceeding. It's smooth sailing from then on. My SkyGuider Pro is polar aligned in 5 minutes or less.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 The polar scope March 14, 2021
Reviewer: Ernest Joyner from Florissant, CO United States  
Optically it is pretty close the the competitor, but the software needs to be overhauled. Sharpcap polar alignment is way better and accurate, unlike the expensive Ioptron polar scope. I hope something gets done soon because polar alignment is not possible with this overpriced device.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Works great! October 28, 2020
Reviewer: Steve L from Suwanee, GA United States  
I'm far from an experienced user but this scope was very easy to install and use. Included software is nothing elegant but works everytime. Very fast to get aligned which is important to me.

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 Poor software support October 22, 2020
Reviewer: Raymond Lillard from Redwood City, CA United States  
I have recently purchased a brand new CEM25EC to use as a grab-n-go for short refractor/DSLR excursions.  I came here to the iOptron web-site to purchase my third iPolar and and am very disappointed to see that iOptron still has only Windows support for this product.

The iPolar has been in the market for two years and still has only windows support. !!!!

I am not buying another until there is Android support so I don't have to drag a laptop along for accurate polar alignment.





Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 Failed to connect to camera October 2, 2020
Reviewer: J Taylor from SANTA FE, NM United States  
I connect to the iPolar just fine, but the camera “Camera failed to connect”. iPolar app talks just fine to iPolar, all except the camera. Windows camera security permits app access the camera. iPolar shows up in the Windows Device Manager. I tried a powered USB3 hub. Again no camera connection. Powered hub I connected to the cameras with other camera-using apps such as Skype or a Mac camera app, I get different results. With the Mac app I see images through the iPolar scope. With Skype/Win10, I now get a green image from iPolar.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items