Return to iPolarTM Electronics Polarscope
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 iPolar April 27, 2020
Reviewer: John Wentzel from Kyalami, gauteng South Africa  
I purchased this and fitted it to my Skyguider Pro. It's amazing. Takes me about 5 minutes to get polar alignment now. Runs on Windows 10. It was easy to fit and works like a charm. Now I can spend my time taking photos not battling to get a polar alignment. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 good luck April 13, 2020
Reviewer: steven schiendelman from valparaiso, IN United States  
getting your laptop to see the camera

CAMERA FAILED TO CONNECT

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 doesn't work with Linux, Kstars, Ekos, Stellarmate March 22, 2020
Reviewer: Werner Kuballa from San Jose, CA United States  
iOptron does not provide a driver for Linux, i.e., you have to have a dedicated Windows system to run iOptron's application.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Becoming excellent: has MacOS, needs IOS/Android March 1, 2020
Reviewer: William Shaw from Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire United Kingdom  
I’ve had mine in a CEM40 since May 2019 and the software is now excellent on both Windows and MacOS. A new plate-solving engine is common to both in Win 2.1 and Mac V1.1. Gremlins in early versions have gone and I rarely have problems now. I’ve run it on a MacBook Pro under Parallels until the Mac version appeared in early 2020. They are not identical - Mac wants lat-long in decimal form and still wants 3 positions confirmed. People might need to check their permissions to use the camera or save dark files.

It usually takes me about 2 min to align. The only thing I don’t like is the lack of phone support, even in cabled form, and I hope MacOS support is soon followed by IOS and Android.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Big upgrade from a small scope February 14, 2020
Reviewer: Morgan Wang from Delta, BC Canada  
I have bought this electronic scope for about 8 months now. It works as advertised and is much easier to align compare using optical scope and try to align by naked eyes especially when past dawn. Normally I can have the alignment done within minutes. I had to buy a windows tablet since I don’t have a laptop and prefer go on field as light as possible. For people wanting iOS support (including myself), I doubt it would happen with current model, to connect with phone or iPad... etc, it needs to be able to communicate via Bluetooth, currently is through USB and can’t even connect to iPad or phone physically.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Quite Good but not perfect December 26, 2019
Reviewer: Colin from , United Kingdon  
Well it works but there are a couple of issues one of which has been mention by others elsewhere.
When I take a dark frame it tells me it can't save it. Why not? Presumably it needs to know where to save it but there is nowhere to specify that. Many people have mentioned this with various versions of the software.

The other issue which I am surprised is not mentioned elsewhere is the very short USB cable. Why supply it with a cable that is barely 1M long? Presumably it is assumed that people will take a tall table with them to put the laptop on. For something that costs over £200 I find it surprising that it comes with a USB cable that must immediately be replaced with a longer cable.

However, I have to say it does work and gives good results apart from these little niggles.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Technical information December 5, 2019
Reviewer: uttila from espoo, uusimaa Finland  
iPolar works very well, is easy install and use and it's fast.
However I need to know iPolar camera's focal length. Can't find that information.
Other information I have found. It helps using iPolar with Stellarmate/Rpi4 system.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Works well once plate solve settles November 30, 2019
Reviewer: Jim from New Zealand  
Platesolving here in S. Hemisphere always a challenge with stars appearing/disappearing, same with red dot for alignment.  Running latest version 2.04.
Understand that this is a fairly new product and software and hopefully will continue to improve over time.  Would also be good if camera was able to be used by Sharpcap Pro (use it for polar alignment on my telescope) until iPolar software becomes stable.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 Disapointed - still no IOS-Software for iPolar November 29, 2019
Reviewer: PIFLNOKYD from Switzerland  
I am very disappointed.
Since I don't want to take my Laptop with me, I asked by when we could expect an IOS-App for iPolar.
iOptron replied on 8th Jun 2019:
"We will soon release Android App for iPolar, likely in a couple of weeks. iOS will be next although I don't have date yet."
With this answer I felt safe to buy the iPolar.
But almost 6 months later, I can't find an app for IOS and according to other reviewers and the iOptron-Website - still no SmartPhone-App available.
Till now I was not able to use the device.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Mobile app please ! November 29, 2019
Reviewer: Keith from London, London United Kingdom  
Great product,  very simple and quick to use. However, like other reviewers i think it would be a huge step forward if the controlling software was available for smart phones. Then you’d have a real killer product!!

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items